Skip to content

Sony World Photography Awards 2014 competition opens up


Featured Products

Sony World Photography Awards 2014 competition has been opened and it is now waiting for photographers worldwide to submit their images for a chance to win the prestigious L’Iris d’Or title.

Sony is sponsoring the annual World Photography Awards competition. The camera maker has partnered with the World Photo Organisation for the 2014 edition of the WPA contest, as well.

The World Photo Organisation has announced that photographers can begin submitting their images in three large categories for different groups of lensmen.

one-day-in-history Sony World Photography Awards 2014 competition opens up News and Reviews

“One Day in History” is the name of the image collection which has brought the 2013 World Photographer of the Year title to Andrea Gjestvang. Credits: Andrea Gjestvang.

Sony World Photography Awards 2014 now accepting amazing imagery

Sony and the WPO are inviting professional, youth, and enthusiast photographers to show off their most prized assets for a chance to win significant prizes consisting of money and digital imaging gear.

It is worth mentioning that the overall winner of the professional category will also receive the L’Iris d’Or, which is granted to the Photographer of the Year.

Amateur, professional, and youth photographers can send their entries right now

The Open Competition consists of ten categories, each describing different types of photography. The overall winner gets $5,000 and a trip to London to pick-up the prize. However, entering this category makes you ineligible to the other two competitions.

The Youth Award will be given to a photographer aged 19 and under. Each person can submit three images for free, but they will not be able to enter the other two categories.

Meanwhile, the Professional Photographer of the Year 2014 will be selected from established lensmen. There are some important rules, including the fact that the photos for this category must have been published for the first time in 2013 and they have to represent the same topic.

Beside the L’Iris d’Or title, the laureate will also receive $25,000 prize money.

Professional Photographer of the Year 2013 awarded to Andrea Gjestvang

This year’s competition has been won by Andrea Gjestvang, who has submitted portraits of the 2011 Utoeya massacre survivors.

The Open Photographer of the Year 2013 award has been given to Vietnam-based Hoang Hiep Nguyen, for his portrait of a young girl standing in a storm.

Nevertheless, the Youth Photographer of the Year 2013 title has been awarded to Romanian photographer Alecsandra Raluca Dragoi for a picture of a man dancing at a local festival.

For a chance to win one of these prizes, head over to the World Photo Organisation’s official website. Please note that entries are closing on January 6, 2014.

Posted in


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Recent Posts

Scroll To Top