Skip to content

Portraits of football legends who scored in World Cup finals


Featured Products

Photographer Michael Donald has captured a series of portraits of people who have scored in World Cup finals, including Pele and Gerd Muller, in order to celebrate the 2014 World Cup which is currently underway in Brazil.

Football (or soccer, as North American people are calling it) is one of the most popular sports in the world. The competition that the whole world is waiting for is called the World Cup and it happens once every four years.

Since the 1998 edition, a 32-team format has been in place with eight groups of four teams. Nevertheless, ever since its inception, in 1930 (hosted by Uruguay), the World Cup has been the joy of millions of football fans across the globe.

Scoring a goal in a World Cup final is how legends are born. In order to pay a tribute to this sport, its most important competition, and legendary players, renowned photographer Michael Donald has captured a series of amazing portrait photos of people who scored at least one goal in a World Cup final.

Photographer Michael Donald reveals a series of portraits of footballers who scored in World Cup finals

Michael Donald has captured the portraits of many famous people, including Mick Jagger. He is specialized in this type of photography so he thought that the 2014 World Cup in Brazil needed to be celebrated by remembering footballers who have made history in the competition’s finals.

After taking their portraits, the resulting photos of the players have been turned into an exhibition, which is available right now at the Proud Archivist gallery in London, UK.

The exhibition will remain in place until the end of the 2014 World Cup. The final will occur on July 13, so if you are anywhere near London, you should go ahead and pay the Proud Archivist gallery a visit.

Pele, Gerd Muller, and many others are the football legends featured in the exhibition

As for the subjects of the gallery, we can find probably the best football player of all time, named Pele, who has scored in the 1958 and 1970 finals for Brazil. The hosts of the current World Cup have won on both occasions. Brazil is also the record holder of World Cups won, after also winning the 1962, 1994, and 2002 editions.

Other legends featured in the series are Josef Masopust (scored for Czechoslovakia in 1962), Sir Geoff Hurst (scored for England in 1966), Gerd Muller (scored for West Germany in 1974), and Zinedine Zidane (scored for France in 1998).

More details as well as more photos can be found at the photographer’s official website. Meanwhile, let us know who you are rooting for at the 2014 World Cup!

Posted in


Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.


Recent Posts

Scroll To Top